The Megan Cornog Memorial
Highway Safety Scholarship

Megan Cornog

The Megan Cornog Memorial Highway Safety Scholarship is awarded to a student with an interest in transportation who is enrolled full-time in a graduate program, working toward a master’s degree, at any of the University of North Carolina system campuses.

Named in memory of HSRC staff member Megan Cornog, the purpose of the scholarship is to foster the education and professional development of graduate students with an interest in transportation related areas, including, but not limited to, engineering, driver behavior, city and regional planning, public health, and environmental issues.

HSRC invites scholarship winners to present on their research and experience during a lunch-and-learn session in the HSRC office.

A call for applications is issued each spring, and candidates for the annual $1,500 scholarship are evaluated on a 500-1,000 word essay, as well as academic performance, career goals, extracurricular and professional activities, and work experience.

Megan Cornog died Sunday, November 7, 2010, at her home in Carrboro, N.C. after a courageous battle with cancer. Earning her master’s degree from UNC-Chapel Hill in May 2009, Megan began her career working as a project coordinator for HSRC, focusing on pedestrian and bicycle issues.

We are no longer accepting applications for the 2023 Megan Cornog Memorial Highway Safety Scholarship. Our 2024 Application will open in Spring 2024.

Previous scholarship winners (with their universities and areas of study):

  • 2023: Thomas Thelen (North Carolina State University – Civil Engineering) 
  • 2022: Abigail Lorenzo (University of North Carolina at Wilmington – Public Administration) 
  • 2021: Thanh Huynh Schado (Appalachian State University – Planning and Political Science)
  • 2020: Camryn Sierra Locklear (University of North Carolina at Pembroke – Public Administration)
  • 2019: Juliette Leonardo (East Carolina University College of Allied Health Sciences – Occupational Therapy)
  • 2018: Kaitlin Heatwole (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill – Gillings School of Global Public Health/Department of City and Regional Planning)
  • 2017: Jonathan Holt and Detective Justin Stirewalt (both University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill – Public Administration)
  • 2016: Yulin Deng (North Carolina State University – Industrial Engineering)
  • 2015: Hallie Clark (North Carolina State University – Human Factors and Applied Cognition)
  • 2014: Lauren Cochran (East Carolina University – Occupational Therapy)
  • 2013: *not awarded*
  • 2012: Laura Peoples (University of North Carolina-Greensboro – Public Health)
  • 2011: Zachary Bugg (North Carolina State University – Transportation Systems Engineering)
  • 2010: Michael Ousdahl (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill – City and Regional Planning/Public Administration) and Catherine Vladutiu (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill – Epidemiology)
  • 2009: Katherine Hebert (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill – City and Regional Planning/Urban Planning)
  • 2008: Kathryn Martin (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill – Public Health)
  • 2007: Chava Kronenberg (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill – City and Regional Planning)

To view all HSRC scholarship opportunities, visit